a

Gal Pal Getaway!

  midwest_living  

    CHECK IT OUT!!
Leavenworth, along with
Atchison, KS is featured
in a 3-page article in
the August issue of
Midwest Living
magazine! 
 
Ladies, start planning
        a weekend in 
    LEAVENWORTH!!
 

Buffalo Soldier Monument

Fort Leavenworth

This magnificent monument was dedicated in 1992 to the memory of the 9th & 10th Cavalry Regiments comprised of black soldiers. Headquartered in Louisiana and Leavenworth, Kansas, these troopers proved their bravery and valor throughout the Indian Wars. They won the respect of the Cheyenne warriors who named them "Buffalo Soldiers", a badge of honor accepted and worn with pride by these black cavalry troopers.

The monument project was initiated by General Colin Powell, former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, who was stationed at Ft. Leavenworth. Open daily during daylight hours, no admission charged.

Buffalo Soldiers were voted as one of the "8 Wonders of KS People" in 2010!8_wonders_people

NOTE: U.S. picture ID (driver's license) is required upon entering Fort Leavenworth. Weapons are not allowed to be brought on the fort.

Return to Attractions

Fri Oct 31 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Fri Oct 31 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
"Bus Stop"
Sat Nov 01 @ 8:00AM - 02:00PM
Holiday Baazar & Flea Market
Sat Nov 01 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Sat Nov 01 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
"Bus Stop"
Sun Nov 02 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Sun Nov 02 @ 2:00PM - 04:00PM
"Bus Stop"
Mon Nov 03 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Tue Nov 04 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Wed Nov 05 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Thu Nov 06 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Fri Nov 07 @10:00AM - 04:00PM
Shelby Prindaville, Residencies Art Exhibit
Fri Nov 07 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
"Bus Stop"
Sat Nov 08 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Downtown Holiday Open House
Sat Nov 08 @ 8:00PM - 10:00PM
"Bus Stop"
Sun Nov 09 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Holiday Open House
Sun Nov 09 @ 7:00PM - 08:00PM
Founder's Day Concert
Tue Nov 11 @10:30AM - 12:30PM
LV County Veterans Day Parade
Tue Nov 11 @ 1:00PM -
Veterans Day Lunch
Thu Nov 13 @ 7:00PM - 08:00PM
"Battle of the Crater, 1864"